R.I.P. NetBSD 2.0_RC4 and dear 486 powering it!

O tempore, o mores!

It is my sad tale to tell, that from this moment on my trusted temporary webserver and secondary nameserver, the second heart of my LAN is being disposed of all tasks, except sending bsdstats, collecting uptime and dust.
The 486SX, which for my surprise has a 487-coprocesssor, is now history and no-one except me can log in it for the rest of it’s life. The funny thing about the box was, that I didn’t even know it had a math-coprocessor before a few days back, after a conversation on IRC with a nick having an interest in NetBSD too. I just did ‘dmesg|less’ and behold! It is classed as a 486DX, not 486SX 😮
Here’s a piece of the dmesg of that puny, but still loveable pizzabox:
<dmesg>
NetBSD 2.0_RC4 (TERMINAL) #0: Sun Oct 31 16:20:11 EET 2004
        marko@olohuone.koti.lan:/usr/obj/sys/arch/i386/compile.i386/TERMINAL
total memory = 8060 KB
avail memory = 6536 KB
mainbus0 (root)
cpu0 at mainbus0: (uniprocessor)
cpu0: Intel 486DX (486-class)
isa0 at mainbus0
</dmesg>
How the hell haven’t I discovered that bit of information now underlined in the dmesg of that machine before?
Well, however, this is the end of this famous computer as any kind of useful tool… It will still report some bsdstats to confuse the world about a machine still running NetBSD 2.0_RC4 on a measly 486DX-class CPU, go and see for yourself on *BSD Usage Statistics: CPU Stats, there’s only one 486DX and that, my friends is terminal.lethe.themafia.info, or that’s how it’s called here, but me, being it’s friend call it just terminal…
I swear on my fathers grave, that I will not log in to that box anymore except once in a week or two to check it’s uptime and that’s it!
It has had many, many years of service, sometimes being the lone nameserver on my LAN and bravely doing it’s task even then…
R.I.P. (except for that login sometimes, and keep on running until the next power outage).
Leave a Reply

